Mead Reviews

Our Mead Reviews from Newspapers and Magazines

Montana winery reviewed by Now and Zin.

Our Mead Reviews on YouTube

BBR Drinks and Reviews “The King’s Pyment” from Hidden Legend Winery

WISB explores mead.

Online Mead Reviews

Here are a few comments we have received with orders, through our website, on Facebook and from our Amazon customers. Please come and join us on Facebook and tell us what you think. Leave a mead review.

Mead ReviewsThe Kings Mead by Hidden Legend – This is an outstanding mead. I really love it. It has a full bodied taste and is a great representative of what a mead should be! If you have never tried drinking any mead and want to get a sense of it I recommend you try this. It will give you a great sense of mead. I really like this mead.

Storm the Castle

Feb 16, 2015

Love the regional focus with elder and chokecherry melomels. Always a well fermented, balanced product. Just a light sweetness that doesn’t overpower like some other meads.

Facebook.com/HiddenLegendWinery

Nov 14, 2014

They didn’t have any spiced mead so I begged them nicely and I got a call from the owner and he is going to pull one from his secret stash for me ,….. I love customer service like this . I’ll definitely order from them again 

Facebook.com/HiddenLegendWinery

Oct 15, 2014

Great Mead! Available in Spokane again, yay!

Facebook.com/HiddenLegendWinery

Sep 2, 2014

Just purchased the Dark Mead and can safely say I will be trying all their mead. Excellent price for excellent mead!

Facebook.com/HiddenLegendWinery

Jul 9, 2014

This stuff is amazing. I can’t believe I used to drink that Chaucer’s and Bunratty swill. Hidden Legend is the only mead for me.

Facebook.com/HiddenLegendWinery

Jun 21, 2014

You guys make the best damn mead period. I know that no matter what flavor I purchase, it will be high quality and a delight to drink. I am looking forward to enjoying any and all new varieties you produce in the coming months and years.

Facebook.com/HiddenLegendWinery

Jun 20, 2014

All of us with Order of Epona LOVE the mead!! It’s the only brand we will drink.

Facebook.com/HiddenLegendWinery

May 3, 2014

Absolutely delicious, best drink/drank/drunk I’ve ever had. PRAISE ODIN, HAIL ASGARD! 

May 2, 2014

I just wanted to say you guys make an amazing product. Every single person I have given a glass too has loved it. Wine snobs, beer drinkers/crafters & whiskey drinkers have all asked me to fw. them your website. Even the people that have told me they don`t like mead. So a hat tip to you. I think it is awesome that you guys are going to start selling kits and I can not wait to order one when they become available. 

HLW.com Customer, Ohio

Apr 28, 2014

Awesome Mead! Getting more asap

Facebook.com/HiddenLegendWinery

March 25, 2014

excellent

Amazon Customer

March 25, 2014

Amazing mead, the best ever, and it has a great kick! If you guys were able to ship to Nebraska, I would buy it more frequently.

HLW.com Customer, North Dakota

March 23, 2014

Item as described. Great packaging. Looking forward to share at next social gathering

Amazon Customer

March 19, 2014

Awesome mead!

Facebook

March 9, 2014

my favorite of the Hidden Legend Spiced Meads.
Some of their dry ‘modern’ ones…adapted to the ‘modern pallete’
don’t really taste like mead. But this one is strong and rich and MAGICAL.

Amazon Customer

February 26, 2014

Oh MY THOR!!!!! The King’s Mead was the BEST! I am not much of a drinker except for maybe holidays where I drink wine or Bailey’s Irish Cream…but after having the Kings Mead…so honey Sawweeeeet! I found myself sipping it away in small sips for the taste….and then the KICK caught up with me. Just ordered another three bottles…LONG LIVE the KING’s Mead! And it is cheaper for me to ship from Montana to Florida than ship within my state from another winery. King’s Mead for ME!

Facebook

February 26, 2014

Seller is Excellent. Product Arrived Promptly and in Excellent Condition.

Amazon Customer

February 22, 2014

I finally bought some Maple Mead from Hidden Legend Winery… great stuff!

Facebook

February 20, 2014

Due to the extreme cold, the seller contacted me to ask if it was okay to delay shipping to preserve the state of the mead. I am so glad I did! It was fabulous!

Amazon Customer

February 14, 2014

A friend bought me a bottle of the Pure Honey Mead a few months back and I love it. I’ve had several bottles since then, and also the Dark Mead. Looking forward to trying the other varieties, too!

Facebook

January 28, 2014

I buy Hidden Legend mead as often as I can. My favorite is the Chokecherry, though the Elderberry, Pure Honey and Huckleberry are up there.

The King’s Mead, Pyment and Cyser are good, but I don’t really get them as often.

Peach is not really anything I would go for, but I am sure for being Peach it is pretty good.

The Dark Mead has a great taste, but it is another I rarely get.. same with the Spiced… the latter of which is great for dessert.

I really want to try the Maple… but with so many great meads, it keeps getting crowded out.

Facebook

January 4, 2014

I was super excited to get this in the mail- it actually came on a day when my family was having a Christmas party. The bottle was literally empty within minutes. Everyone wanted to try the mead. I loved it, and so did everyone else. I am not incredibly knowledgeable about wine or mead but I could definitely taste the honey and it was very unique. Mead= my new favorite obsession.
Thanks!

Amazon Customer

December 29, 2013

Great mead.

Facebook

December 20, 2013

I’ve been ordering from you for years and I keep coming back because the mead is great and so is the customer service. I end up sending more mead as gifts than I actually get to drink it! Love you guys, that’s all. 

HLW.com Customer, California

December 19, 2013

Great Cyser I am glad someone actually makes this stuff because it is delicious

Amazon Customer

December 18, 2013

Incredible shipping, arrived 2 days after ordered and taste wise this is where it’s at. If your looking for genuine good tasting Nordic mead look no further. Will buy again!

Amazon Customer

December 17, 2013

My fiancé and I absolutely love Hidden Legend Winery. I’m always spreading the word about it.

Facebook

November 27, 2013

This is a most excellent full-bodied mead (read more)

Amazon Customer

Oct 31, 2013

Just opened my first bottle, the King’s Mead. First off, I ordered it online and it got to me ridiculously fast! First impression, delicious! Not too sweet, not an overwhelming wine taste. It’s below freezing outside, but I am nice and warm. Looking forward to trying the Honey, Cyser and Elderberry. I hope they are as good as this!

Facebook

Oct 26, 2013

Our local store was out of the Pure Honey Mead, so I bought a bottle of The King’s Pyment to try. Delicious!

Facebook

Oct 11, 2013

I was truly impressed with the King’s Mead. I’ll have to order some more soon for the holidays.

Facebook

Oct 6, 2013

Truly the nectar of the Gods!

Facebook

Oct 4, 2013

Thoroughly enjoying some room temperature Dark Mead tonight. Complex and satisfying!

Facebook

Aug 30, 2013

FANTASTIC PRODUCT! I am so glad I came across you. I am really hoping for a vanilla and lightly spiced metheglin for a winter release or something!

Facebook

Aug 26, 2013

Don’t ever stop making kings mead.. Its the best

HLW.com Customer, Texas

Aug 25, 2013

Your shipping times beat those of companies in my own state, and the quality of your mead is superior as well. Other meaderies will put in too much honey and its overpowering, but you’ve got the mix down perfectly. I would like it if you offered more experimental or unusual meads. The chokecherry and huckleberry were pretty good, and I’m interested in tasting mixes of all kinds.

HLW.com Customer, Ohio

Aug 25, 2013

Keep producing your amazing king’s mead and I’ll keep buying it.

HLW.com Customer, Florida

Aug 24, 2013

Keep crafting deliciousness! Very grateful! 

HLW.com Customer, Florida

July 23, 2013

Thank you for the club mead special edition. It was absolutely fantastic. Well done! If ever you make another batch, dont let me miss out

HLW.com Customer, Idaho

July 10, 2013

you guys are wonderful. I’ve ordered mead online from you many times and have never had any issues. Thank you! 

HLW.com Customer, Oregon

May 20, 2013

Loved it! So wonderful and so different. You definately have a new customer.

HLW.com Customer, Ohio

May 15, 2013

I ordered three bottles of mead over the weekend, and they arrived this afternoon. I have to commend you for the quality packaging and speedy shipping. I first tried your mead at the Las Vegas Celtic Gathering & Highland Games, and I’m glad I can easily order it from you. Thank you for a job well done.

Facebook

May 11, 2013

Amazing quality mead, haven’t been able to find anything that even comes close to what you guys are making. Keep up the good work and I will keep ordering!

HLW.com Customer, California

May 10, 2013

You should really consider marketing to the gamer population more. I had to do some deep searching to find this site,and only managed because I was dedicated to finding specifically old world style mead. The gamer population has a love of many of the cultures known for mead and a large disposable income. In current times, they’re also primarily of an age to purchase your product

HLW.com Customer, Florida

May 9, 2013

Can’t improve a perfect product!

HLW.com Customer, Washington

May 4, 2013

Keep exploring these fruit combinations, so far my favorite by a longshot is the Apple Cyser. great stuff!

HLW.com Customer, Virginia

April 28, 2013

I bought a couple of bottles of the Kings Mead and loved it. It was just as delicious when I opened a bottle for my guest. They loved it. I was elk hunting in Montana and stopped by the Chokecherry Festival in Lewistown, tried everything and chose the Kings Mead. On a trip to England I had some original mead in Wales this was just as good, and just as powerful ( for me at least).

Keep up the good work. I’m glad you have the web site so I can keep it in stock.

HLW.com Customer, California

April 25, 2013

Finally opened my bottle of the King’s Mead, wonderful flavor with hints of orange and cinnamon in the aftertaste. Nice work, wish you could ship to NE.

Facebook

April 17, 2013

I just got my King’s Cyser Apple Mead. It is so yummy. We definitely will be buying the other flavors in the future. 🙂

Facebook

April 13, 2013

Amazing products! My introduction to your mead was the pure honey mead, and it truly tasted phenomenal.

HLW.com Customer, DC

April 7, 2013

I would have gotten a Maple Mead, but its out of stock… I’ve been wanting to try it so much! Plus I think a Cherry Mead or a Pepper Mead (Combining Sweet and Spicy) would be nice as well. You guys make an awesome product, one that I enjoy and has become the envy of my friends. Keep up the good work!

HLW.com Customer, Idaho

April 1, 2013

We wanted Cyser, but since we hadn’t ordered any from you guys, we had to go to our liquor store. They had Pyment, so we accepted that. Wasn’t as good as your guys’ Pyment.

Facebook

April 1, 2013

Took a bottle of Pure Mead and a bottle of Dark Mead to a Walking Dead party. Everybody loved it!!

Facebook

March 26, 2013

Just ate lamb. First leg of lamb I’ve ever cooked. And I finished it off kings cyser…it is heaven after eating lamb!!! I mean its pretty fracking good otherwise but so so so tasty when served with lamb. 2nd trial

Facebook

March 22, 2013

Huckleberry…awesome

Facebook

March 22, 2013

Greatly enjoying a bottle of the Huckleberry Mead. Fantastic!

Facebook

March 2013

Wow – I think we just found our new favorite wine! My husband was very hesitant to try it, he is a “zin” drinker, but told all his friends how good it was! Thank you so very much!

March 6, 2013

Keep doing what you do best. I love the King’s Mead

February 7, 2013

I wanted to drop you a quick line to tell you how ridiculously happy I am with my purchase!  I recieved the six bottles of mead yesterday and after trying just two of them(The King’s Mead and the Elderberry) I can already count mead among my all-time favored drinks!  I had never had mead before!  In fact, until recently I had always assumed it was some kind of old-world beer or ale.  Even when I heard sometime later that it was made with honey, I didn’t think much about it.  It was only after doing a little online research last week that I learned that it was actually a wine.  A honeywine!  I was shocked.  I love wine and have so for years!  When I found your site and saw all the various meads that you make, I knew the time had finally come to try some, and I could not be more pleased!  Everyone else in the house loved it, too.  None of us had ever tried mead before!  We are eagerly awaiting the weekend when we will undoubtedly try and LOVE the remaining 4 bottles from my order!  Thank you for introducing me to the delicious wonder that is MEAD!! 🙂

HLW.com Customer, California

January 1, 2013

I have to say, I finished the bottle of Mead that I ordered from you guys, and it was absolutely delicious! The flavor was tantalizing and it had the right balance of sweet and dry! I will definitely be ordering from you guys again, thank you for making such delicious Mead!

HLW.com Customer, Florida

December 28, 2012

Keep making amazing mead! I make mead at home, but its just not the same as Hidden Legend’s.

HLW.com Customer, Georgia

December 14, 2012

Pure Honey Mead…wow!

Facebook

November 1, 2012
Just wanted to tell you that, I received my shipment and am amazed at the quality of drink! You guys make an amazing product and I will definitly be buying more in the future. 
Thank you very much,
HLW.com Customer, Nevada
October, 27 2012
Hidden Legend makes the best mead I have tasted and their variety is so unique and delicious.

August 28, 2012

Just wanted to let you guys know at Hidden Legend that your Mead is a life saver. Received my order today, tastes like heaven. I can`t find any mead locally so you guys are definitely a God send. Thank you very much.

HLW.com Customer, North Carolina

August 17, 2012

Amazing Mead, very smooth. I suggest buying from Hidden Legend highly.

Facebook

June 17, 2012

I just recently bought some of your honey mead from a store while visiting family in Eugene, I just wanted to say that i love the quality of it and would like to purchase more some time. Would you consider shipping to the East coast region? I live currently in New York city. I`ve bought other meads in NY but none like this! Let me know would love to purchase a mix case of all the others you have 🙂

Happy Customer, New York

June 14, 2012

When is the earliest I can order some of the next batch of Kings Mead so I don’t get left in the dust when it coms available? Your’s is the best to me and I don’t want to compromise quality. Everybody else is squires next to the king.

HLW.com Customer, Florida

June 12, 2012

Could you advise approx. when more of your wonderful Kings Mead will come available.
After knowing nothing but Bunratty for so long
and getting ahold of Kings Mead I really don`t want to go back. I tried a few of your other meads but really want to stay with the Kings Mead.
I can`t find anyplace local that carries ANY kind of mead. Most don`t even know what it is…barbarians.

HLW.com Customer, Florida

June 8, 2012

I got a bottle of your Dark Mead at the Highland Games in Spokane last year, and it was amazing.

Happy Customer, California

March 1, 2012

This company is amazing and I suggest you buy your mead here.

Facebook

January 5, 2012

Best. Mead. Ever. I need to get some down to CA!

Facebook

January 5, 2012

Some very cool drink here…

Facebook

May 22, 2011

Pure Honey Mead review by WISB